UPSC Exam Details for First Timers
Posted by

UPSC conducts exam for civil services every year. The examination is conducted within the following 3 stages:

1. Prelims stage

2. Mains stage

3. Interview Stage

Preliminary Exam: The civil services prelim pattern was as per  the recommendations of the Kothari Commission (1979) until 2010, and also the exam  had 2 papers General Studies as paper one for one hundred fifty marks and paper two any one  among twenty three subjects for three hundred marks.

Once in each ten to fifteen years, the prelims communicating pattern saw solely minor changes, till in 2011 once it absolutely was overhauled by replacement the paper with CSAT paper 2, that formally called General Studies paper two. The CSAT paper (GS Paper 2) aims to assess the analytical talents and understanding of a candidate instead of their ability to memorise. At present, the new prelims paper includes 2 papers for 2 hours length with two hundred marks for every paper. Each  papers asks multiple choice type questions.

To get UPSC syllabus , visit the given link.

In August 2014, the explicit change was related to that English marks in CSAT Paper II . But, in 2015, the govt  declared that CSAT Paper II of the civil services prelims will be  of qualifying in nature but, candidates ought to score a minimum of thirty three  so as to proceed  to next stage of the examination i.e., mains.

Note: In each General Studies Paper I and CSAT Paper II for every wrong answer there'll be a negative marking of 1/3rd of assigned marks of that question.

Mains Exam: The Civil Services Mains Examination are conducted in  a written examination mode and consists of 9 papers within which 2 papers are of qualifying in nature and 7 papers  are decides ranking of candidates.

The queries within the mains communicating could vary from only one mark to sixty marks and will need respondent within the vary of twenty words to 600 words.

According to the suggestion of the faculty member Arun S Nigavekar Committee , the new marks allocation for government officials examination was introduced in 2013. Anyhow, once few controversies, the qualifying papers for Indian Languages and English were maintained within the civil services examination.

There are  twenty six optional subjects  for Papers VI and VII among that candidate  can opt for any subjects.

Start your IAS preparation from today to see your name in UPSC result



September 2017 (1)
Blog Categories
Recent Comments
No one has commented recently

This website is powered by Spruz